Board Elects New Officers, Directors

At its annual meeting on May 19, via video conference, the board of directors of the Anne Arundel County Public Library Foundation elected its slate of officers for fiscal year 2021. They include Chuck Ferrar (president); Karen W. Smith (vice-president); Trish Strott (secretary) and William J. Hufnell (treasurer). Outgoing president, Sam Brown, of Annapolis law firm Hillman, Brown, and Darrow, who will continue to serve on the board for another three-year term as a director, congratulated the new slate.

Both Strott and Hufnell are returning in their roles as secretary and treasurer, respectively. Chuck Ferrar has served as the foundation’s vice-president since 2018. Karen Smith, who joined the board in 2017, is taking on her first officer role with the foundation having served as chair of its events committee for the past two years.

In addition to the slate of officers, the board approved the nomination of two new directors: Katie Prechtl Cooke and Stephen Holt, both of Annapolis. Cooke has extensive leadership experience with area non-profits including West Annapolis Elementary School’s PTA, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and St. Margaret’s Day School. She has also served as an annual fund team leader for the Chautauqua Institute and, in 2017, hosted the library foundation’s successful Not Your Grandmother’s Library neighborhood fundraiser bringing together the Women of West Annapolis in support of the Beyond your Expectations: The Campaign for the Library. Holt, a co-founder of Premier Planning Group in Annapolis, currently serves as an officer of the Anne Arundel Estate Planning Council and has been active as a top volunteer with the Friends of the Annapolis Symphony, the Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County, the Caritas Society of St. John’s College, Annapolis Ducks Unlimited and the Maryland Sportsman’s Foundation. Premier Planning Group joined the family of sponsors for this year’s For the Love of the Library which will be rescheduled later this coming fiscal year.

Foundation members. See list below for member names
Members of the FY20 board of directors of the library foundation at their November, 2019 meeting.
First row (l to r), Anna E. Greenberg, Chris Nelson, Linda Greene, Joan Beck. Standing (l to r), Karen W. Smith, Joyce Miller,  Jane Campbell-Chambliss, Skip Auld, Mary Hagerty, Chuck Ferrar, Trish Strott and Sam Brown
Not shown: Tessie LaRose Ballard, Hamilton Chaney, DeDe Duncan-White, Bill Hufnell and Marc Rodriguez.
New to FY21 (not shown): Katie Prechtl Cooke and Stephen Holt.