Staff Picks

We'd like to share some of our current favorite reads!

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy NelsonI'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
"Heartbreaking and beautiful, I'll Give You the Sun is the story of twins who lose their way after their mother dies and slowly claw their way back to each other. Romance, yes, but more important in this book is dealing with grief and learning how to live and forgive." – Kt, Glen Burnie Regional Library
Find it in the library
Suspect by Robert CraisSuspect by Robert Crais
"This mystery pairs policeman Scott James, recovering from an assault, with Military Working Dog Maggie, recovering from battle wounds. Since my family has a female German Shepard dog, I loved the way that part of the book was told from Maggie's point of view." – Sally, Glen Burnie Regional Library
Find it in the library
The Dharma Bums by Jack KerouacThe Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac
"The Dharma Bums is an incredible book composed of beautiful stream of conscious language, where Kerouac writes of the transcendent power of nature, solitude, and personal freedom. I've read this book more than any other since I first picked it up at 15. It also introduced me to the greatly underrated poet and conservationist, Gary Snyder, who the character Japhy Ryder is based off of. Some may say that On the Road, is Kerouac's crowning achievement, but for me, it doesn't get any better than The Dharma Bums." Jason, Severn Community Library
Find it in the library
Freehold by Michael Z. WilliamsonFreehold by Michael Z Williamson
"This novel emulates Robert Heinlein at his best! Earth is a mess, governed by a corrupt regime one woman has to escape when she is framed for a crime she did not commit." Brian, Glen Burnie Regional Library
Find it in the library
The Bone House (Cab Bolton, #1) by Brian FreemanThe Bone House by Brian Freeman
"I love sinking my teeth into a new series and stumbled upon The Bone House, by Brian Freeman when I ordered Season of Fear by the same author.
Detective Cab Bolton involves himself in a local murder that takes him to an island off Lake Michigan. A horrific fire that destroys a family, a teacher accused of something he did not do, and a terrible town secret all play in to the murder of a young girl at the beach.
Lots of twists and turns really make this a great mystery. The Bone House is the first Cab Bolton series and can't wait to continue with the second book Season of Fear. Margie, Edgewater Community Library
Find it in the library
The Fade Out, Vol. 1 by Ed BrubakerThe Fade Out by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips
"The Fade Out is a new graphic novel series by writer Ed Brubaker and artist Sean Phillips, who previously gave us Criminal, Fatale, and several other excellent series. The Fade Out is a true noir mystery graphic novel set in Hollywood's golden era. It's gritty, dark, violent, and definitely not for kids, but anyone who loves reading noir writers like James M. Cain, Raymond Chandler, Lawrence Block or likes movies like L.A. Confidential is going to love this graphic novel. (The Fade Out is currently on order, but customers can place holds right now.)" Andy, Severna Park Community Library
Find it in the library
The Emperor of All Maladies  A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha MukherjeeEmperor Of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee
"This book explains the history of cancer research in layman's terms, beginning with theories and practices from the 1800s. Ken Burns has just made a documentary based on the book. Later, after reading the book, I was reading a magazine article on breast cancer and found that I knew why a particular drug treatment was being used on the patient. The reader will come away with an appreciation of the commitment to individual research that has been made in this field despite efforts by big drug companies to control research. Readers who enjoyed The Immortal Life Of Henrietta Lacks will enjoy this book." April, Edgewater Community Library
Find it in the library
Remarkable Creatures  by Tracy ChevalierRemarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
"A book about an English spinster, Elizabeth Philpot, who collects fossils for curiosity and Mary Anning (a real person) who collects them for money meet and have adventures together on the British shore.
I was surprised how much I liked this book. It is really out of my comfort area (which is cozy mysteries). I really liked the characters and how they interacted.
I think anyone that is interested in the Regency period but not romance will enjoy this book." Liz, Deale Community Library
Find it in the library
I'll Drink to That  A Life in Style, with a Twist by Betty Halbreich I'll Drink to That by Betty Halbreich
"I'll Drink to That is Betty's story of 40 years as the first personal shopper at Bergdorf Goodman. Betty struggles after her marriage crumbles and finds comfort and purpose in a career helping women dress themselves smartly. It's funny and interesting. I loved the freedom and strength that she got from her job. Betty is a charming, honest lady who helps clients not only dress well but also get through a great deal of things. You can tell she really cares for her customers and isn't just looking to sell.
This book is great for anyone that loves fashion and a good story." Lauren, Glen Burnie Regional Library
Find it in the library
Waiting For Gonzo by Dave Cousins Waiting for Gonzo by Dave Cousins
"A truthful and humorous look at the coming-of-age of Marcus Osborne, aka Oz, in his new home in rural England. Oz deals with the surprise pregnancy of his teenage sister, a new school and a big misunderstanding with a new friend who is bullied, and a love-hate relationship with the female classmate he refers to as Psycho. Fans of Jack Gantos's Norvelt and Joey Pigza books will enjoy Oz's humorous yet poignant perspective on life. Find it in AACPL's YA collection!" Sharon, Odenton Regional Library
Find it in the library